To view a document and information about the document, click on a thumbnail of the document or the document name (most often from search results, the timeline view, a Subject Binder tab, or from a Study Binder).
The document viewer has three sections: on the top, the navigation bar; on the left, document details; and on the right, the document viewer.
Along the top, you will see a "breadcrumb" showing you how you navigated to this document, by clicking on any element in the breadcrumb you can navigate back up to a binder, section, or tab you came from. You can also see how many documents are in this section. Most importantly, here you may add a new version of the document or access the document editor by clicking "EDIT". If there are unsaved changes to the document details, the "EDIT" button in the document viewer will change from "EDIT" to a tangerine "SAVE" button. Please be sure to always save your changes.
Here in the left box, you can edit the document name, where it is filed, and tags (if the document is in a Subject Binder). Each document can have multiple versions, and it's here you can view if there are previous versions and click on them to view if so. Each document version will have its own effective date and expiration date, and an audit trail of all actions taken on the document version.
On the right, the contents of the document are displayed. If there are multiple pages in the document, scroll down to view them all.
If you are in a Subject Binder, you can click the right arrow to "flip" through to other documents in this same section of this binder (and then click the left arrow to move backward).
You'll also notice each document version may have multiple views:
"Redacted" tab: Appears when there are saved & shared redactions. This is the view of the document those without redaction privileges (for example, monitors) would see. This view will also include any other saved edits, if they exist.
"Edited" tab: Appears when there are saved edits to the document. This is the view of the document those with redaction privileges (for example, coordinators) would see. This is the original document plus any other saved edits except redaction boxes so that redacted areas are visible. Unshared redactions appear as semi-transparent boxes.
"Original" tab: The document version as it appeared when uploaded, without any redaction or other edits.